NEF Scholarship Funds/Awards

Each year, the NEF Criteria and Eligibility Committee conducts an established screening and selection protocol then submits the names of those scholars recommended for scholarship awards to the NEF Board of Directors. The following list represents the current scholarship funds and awards:

American Journal of Nursing Scholarship

Endowed scholarship, established for masters or doctoral graduate nurses who exemplify characteristics of a nursing leader who plans to exercise the "voice" of nursing through speaking or writing, someone who is an advocate for nursing in the public arena.

Evelyn J. Barclay Fund

This scholarship is given to a doctoral applicant in nursing education or research.

M. Elizabeth Carnegie African American Memorial Award

In the past, Dr. Carnegie contributed to this fund each year with other donors to give a $2,000 scholarship. Former recipients often give to this fund. On her death (2008), Dr. Carnegie left $125,172.06 to NEF to be used explicitly for "black nurses enrolled in doctoral programs in memory of Dr. M. Elizabeth Carnegie."

Columbia University – Presbyterian Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Association Inc./J. Margaret Ada Mutch Award

An endowed scholarship fund established when the Columbia University-Presbyterian Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Association, Inc. donated $50,000 for an NEF scholarship. Preference is given to a Columbia alumnus. This scholarship honored Ms. Margaret Ada J. Mutch’s 100th birthday.

Cynthia Davis Sculco Scholarship Fund

Initiated in 2012 with a $50,000 donation, this endowed scholarship is dedicated to doctoral study in nursing education. Cynthia Sculco is a dedicated NEF Board member who has served in many leadership capacities with NEF, including President, Vice-President, Chair of Long Term Development, and Co-Chair of Criteria and Eligibility.

Margaret Gould Tyson Memorial Fund

An endowed fund. Dr. Tyson was a very active NEF Board member for many years. On her death (2008), Dr. Tyson left $20,000 to this fund. Given annually to a doctoral applicant in nursing education.

Isabel Hampton Robb Memorial Award

An award sum designated by the Board, usually $10,000, is given to the doctoral degree applicant who receives the highest evaluation score.

Liesel M. Hiemenz Fund

An endowed fund in memory of Ms. Hiemenz, a nurse from Germany. Preference is given to applicants interested in public health.

Eleanor C. Lambertsen Memorial Fund

This fund was started the year of Ms Lambertsen's death. Dr. Margaret Tyson, on her death (2008), left $20,000 to this fund that is given annually to a doctoral applicant in nursing education or administration.

Estelle Massey Osborne Memorial Award

This award consists of donations from Freedmen's Hospital Nurses' Alumni Inc. Given annually to an African American Master's degree applicant. The fund is named after Estelle Massey Osborne who was the first black nurse in the U.S. to earn a master’s degree and in 1945, became assistant professor at New York University, the university’s first black instructor.

Isabel McIsaac Memorial Award

An award sum designated by the NEF Board, usually $5,000, is given to the master's degree applicant who receives the highest evaluation score.

Mathy Mezey Endowed Scholarship Fund

In 2013, the John A. Hartford Foundation, Inc. endowed a NEF Scholarship Fund for $50,000 in honor of Mathy Mezey, EdD, RN, FAAN, a noted international geriatric expert. This scholarship will be used to fund nurses engaged in graduate geriatric nursing programs.

National Student Nurses' Association (NSNA) Award

NSNA contributes to this award annually. The award is given to a master's or doctoral applicant who was a NSNA member in their undergraduate program.

NEF Scholars Fund

An endowed fund. In the past, donations from former NEF scholars accumulated in this fund.

Lucy C. Perry Fund

Preference for this fund is given to applicants studying at Indiana University and interested in public health.

Miriam M. Powell Fellowship Fund

Seeking to discover a meaningful career led Miriam Powell to enroll in the Cornell University-New York Hospital School of Nursing. In 2004, after a gratifying career in nursing, Ms. Powell decided to support a scholarship for one nurse each year with an annual gift to NEF. These scholarships were referred to as the Miriam M. Powell Fellowship. In 2015, the Fellowship Fund was made an endowed scholarship. Ms Powell’s scholarship is dedicated to clinical nursing leadership and scholarship.

Edith M. Pritchard Fund

An endowed fund given to applicants interested in nursing education/public health.

Philip D. Raso Scholarship

An endowed scholarship established in 2016 , dedicated to Philip D. Raso by the Ritchie Foundation in his memory and in honor of his sister Rosanne Raso, for proven nursing excellence in leadership and management.

Henry B. Spencer Scholarship

Henry Spencer, a dedicated Nurses Educational Funds, Inc. Board Member and long-time Treasurer of NEF, manages the NEF portfolio of investments that support NEF scholarship giving and its mission. Henry Spencer is an advocate of nursing and sage advisor. He has been Vice President of Investments at American Independence Corp. Geneve, and Independence Holding Company. The Henry B. Spencer scholarship is dedicated to leadership in nursing and health care.

Barbara L. Tate Scholarship Fund

Initiated in 2011 on the death of Barbara Tate. Ms. Tate served as President of NEF and was a long time NEF Board member and member of the Finance Committee. The Fund was initiated by Henry Spencer, Treasurer of NEF and colleague of Barbara Tate.

Judith G. Whitaker Fund

A former scholar recipient and ANA Executive Director, the fund was started with $50,000. Ms. Whitaker added $5,000 each year until her death. Given to a doctoral applicant in nursing research or organizational study.

Named Funds Soon to be Endowment Scholarships


M. Louise Fitzpatrick Fund

Established in 2015, scholarships from the M. Louise Fitzpatrick Fund will be given to graduate Nursing PhD or Nursing EdD candidates with community home/health focus or Nursing PhD or Nursing EdD candidates specializing in historical research.

Geraldine Labecki Fund

Established in 2016 after the bequest of the late Dr. Geraldine Labecki, former dean of Clemson School of Nursing.